when the boundaries break

Today was an amazing day at LA college, filled with endless creativity and a whole lot of colour! Not to mention…GLITTER!

When we arrived in class, there were boxes filled of Avant Garde dreams – infinite amounts of glitter and fun colours awaiting their turn to be used, but what better way to begin the day then with a Makeup demo from our tutor Marie-Therese Byrne and who luckier to be the model, than myself! 

She did an incredibly fun and bright look with bold, crazy shaped brows and a lot of colours. No rules to stick to, no need to worry about symmetry or crisp, clean lines and blending. Just pure magic and art. Avant Garde really is the perfect opportunity for us to be inspired, it’s not beauty makeup, the boundaries and rules are there to be broken. You can do whatever you like, execute it well and have it interpreted a million, different ways which I think is a huge reason behind why I love this kind of makeup. Nothing really offends me more than seeing amazing work by the likes of Alex Box and Pat McGrath being criticized by close-minded people that really know nothing about art and the theatricality behind Avant Garde makeups. ‘My two year old could do that in his sleep’, Yeah, well, your two old isn’t an internationally recognised Makeup Artist. The photo that Marie-Therese did on me is pictured below – I must warn you though, I am in no way a model and this photo is a sneaky iPhone selfie! 

Image

 

Time was then handed over to us to create our own Avant Garde look. I did my look on the model, Clodagh Power and I have to say, I’m actually pretty happy with the outcome! I began by creating a bronzed face, using Makeup Forever Face & Body Foundation mixed in with some Honey Bronze lotion which has a lot of glittery, gold in it to create a gorgeous sheen. This was layered over a face prepped with MAC Strobe Cream. I used Maybelline Gel Liner in Black to draw on my thick brows, and used BEN NYE colour refills to paint the brush strokes on to the face – these were cream based and extremely pigmented so were applied like a dream! I finished the look by adding Cinema Secrets Cosmetic Glitter in a Turquoise Blue and Gold to areas of the face, added Mascara, fake lashes and smeared a smudge of Black Eyeliner from the Bodyshop over the lips. Very unusual, completely Avant Garde! 

Image

 

The look above is my look on Clodagh.

The look below is Clodagh’s look on me – Hunger Games inspired and once again, a complete selfie!

Image

 

I look forward to sharing the rest of my week with you all! xo

Leave a Reply

